Home > Member News > News Story

NAMTC Member News

Date: May 15th, 2009
Submitted By: Leib Lurie, CEO One Call Now   -   Web Site: www.onecallnow.com/NAMTC

Free Webinars, June 2 and June 4

NAMTC invites you to a webinar on: When Disaster Strikes, Emerge Unscathed: How an Effective Communication Plan Minimizes Chaos and Maximizes Recovery.

Are you proactive in times of trouble? How did your organization respond to the swine flu, peanut butter recall, school violence and severe weather or other disasters? Join us and hear from your colleagues on how they successfully handled these issues.

Dates and Times:
Tuesday June 2, 2009 - 8:00AM PST / 9:00AM MST / 10:00AM CST / 11:00AM EST
Thursday June 4, 2009 – 11:00AM PST/ 12:00 Noon MST / 1:00PM CST / 2:00PM EST

Who should attend?
Executive Directors, Superintendents, IT Directors, Business Managers

What you will learn:
• When to communicate -- what technology tools are available to be proactive arming administrators with severe weather alerts
• What has changed in the way we communicate: twitter, blogs, Skype’s, face book, web sites and how you can utilize these options
• How to turn voice broadcast into voice dialogue connecting parents immediately with school officials.

Presenters:
Geoff Craven, President, NAMTC (June 2nd)
Tom Dunn, Superintendent, Troy City Schools
Rick Hanes, Superintendent, Piqua City Schools
James Anderson, VP, Weatherbug
Leib Lurie, CEO, and Angela Kirchner, President, One Call Now

“Best Practices” will be shared on:
Proactive Measures: ways for administrators to know how to use the nationwide network of 8,000 weather stations installed on the rooftops of schools armed with a new lightning detection system to call your cell and office phone before bad weather hits.
Alternative Communications: communications directed to parents and how to manage and control the exploding forms of social uncontrolled media like twitter, which can be corrupted with false messages, re-tweets of rumors and scattered, partial facts.
Post Communications: how to turn broadcast into conversations using a “hot transfer” feature in voice broadcasting services.

Register today and be in a drawing to win a Blackberry Storm or an Apple I-Touch.
Call: 877-698-3262 ext: 3 or go on line: www.onecallnow.com/NAMTC
Deadline date is: May 29th (Please note that you have to be present to win!)